In many countries, tourism is a major part of the economy, but it also causes environmental damage and ruins the places it exploits. It is argued that tourists should pay an additional tax to compensate for this damage. Do you agree?

Tourism, being a weighty part of the economy in a lot of countries, caused a bad environmental impact and destroyed important places. Discussion about taxes and compensation for taken damage is one of the topical questions. Each situation has to be reviewed separately, because an unreasoned strategy of controlling tourists can result in unforbidden consequences, like a rapid collapse of the number of visitors as well as massive destruction of places. In many countries, taxes are a significant part of spending, and it's acceptable for citizens. But there are a lot of governments which don't set high rates, and even don't set them at all. A country with a developing economy and small taxes can reduce tourist interest because of unfounded prices. Weighty country, being in danger of destroying the whole heritage, has to organise control of visitors. For example, New York's Central Park is a masterpiece of planning and developing tourist places. Satisfying all needs is extremely expensive without taxes for visitors, because they caused the main part of the damage. To conclude, countries have to analyse a tourist's impact on the economy and find a correct tax strategy. This strategy could be chosen according to visitors ' interests and overall national well-being.