Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Other disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, traveling around the world has become a famous activity among people. Some claim that visitors should integrate into local culture and follow locals’ activities, while others think that the locals should accept cultural differences. In the following essay, I will show both sides of the issue and conclude by explaining my own view. It is claimed that visitors should try and follow the local culture and behavior. To start with, when foreigners try to behave the same as locals, the original people there will feel respected and are more willing to welcome them to visit. Moreover, some traditional small countries may easily be influenced by other strong countries. This is the reason why many traditional languages or skills have disappeared eventually due to the impact of foreign nations. As a result, some argue that visitors should not bring their own culture there and should try to follow and learn from the local people to prevent fragile culture from vanishing. On the other hand, the host countries should not refuse cultural differences. To begin with, there is always so much to learn from other regions. The local people and their government can learn new things from communicating with other foreign countries. By doing this, they can improve their drawbacks and make progress. For example, Japan’s cleanliness and the well behave of its inhabitants are well-known, so many countries and their citizens around the world would like to imitate that to improve themselves. In addition, cultural conflict is not always a bad thing. This means it sometimes can stimulate one’s nation to become better. In conclusion, this issue is clearly a double-edged sword, I think I would take a more balanced view. The reason is that the locals need to protect and preserve their own culture and the travelers should open their minds to give different cultures a try, but it is also important for the host nations to open their doors to accept culture shock. Therefore, I personally believe that both foreigners and local people should accept each other.