Governments should focus their spending on public services rather than on the arts (eg. music and painting). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often preferred that governmental funding should be allocated to public facilities instead of spending the money just on the services related to arts. I am, firmly, in favour of this statement and provide a few reasons in the following essay. To begin with, when it comes to deciding where to spend the state funds, sports facilities and services should be considered as a top priority. Providing that schools and sports centres are well- equipped with modern and comfortable facilities, the young people get inspired to do a sport and lead a healthy lifestyle. Thus, these initiatives not only make them fit and healthy, but also enable their countries to be one of the renowned ones in the world, winning top-ranked tournaments. Take, for example, the Argentinian football team, who have recently won the World Cup, which is a clear sign of allotting a significant amount of money to sport. As a result, the young generation may be motivated to start a sport and make the country world-famous. Besides, another sector that local authorities ought to pay attention is road infrastructure. Since it is a fundamental need of us to commute to work or another destinations on a daily basis, roads have to be repaired adequately. In other words, we, as ordinary people, regularly witness several road accidents or car crashes either in person or on social media, that is why politicians should improve the quality of motorways with the addition of lighting during the night as well as visible road signs rather than wasting the budget on unnecessary services. In conclusion, governments ought to take sports facilities and maintenance of roads into consideration in place of spending the public funding on the arts. This is because they can popularise the national identity of that country, and, more importantly, prevent death numbers together with accidents on the road.