Solving environment problems should be the responsibility of an international organization rather than each national government. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an idea stating that all environmental issues should be addressed by international organisations instead of governments and local authorities. I disagree with this notion, as everyone must preserve green areas and protect the planet. On the one hand, while all countries are supposed to be fully aware of their own problems, they can establish the most appropriate interventions to deal with these circumstances holistically. Moreover, there is a possibility that a country’s initiatives for solving environmental issues are not compatible with another country’s social context. For example, the New Zealand government has halved public transport fares to encourage commuters to travel by buses, trains and ferries rather than private vehicles, aiming to ease air pollution, fuel crisis and traffic congestion. However, this approach is unrealistic in a developing country like Vietnam, with different road networks and traffic volumes. For instance, motorcycles are the most suitable means of transportation for Vietnamese people to navigate through narrow, congested lanes, as buses take up too much space in urban areas and are inconvenient. Therefore, all trains in this country use steam locomotives, emitting tons of carbon dioxin, negatively affecting air quality and exacerbating noise pollution. On the other hand, intercontinental organisations like United Nations should blaze a trail in encountering worldwide issues such as climate change and the depletion of the ozone layer. Specifically, an international endeavour is necessary to connect all nations and foster cooperation and diplomatic resolutions to global environmental threats. Furthermore, wealthy countries can assist other emerging regions by providing financial and technological support to fight against green issues that may spread beyond national borders rapidly. In conclusion, while international organisations could exert a massive impact on a global scale, the combination of international and governmental efforts would have even more profound influences on the environment.