It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punishment should be given?

It is vital for children to be taught regarding right and wrong things when they are young. Some may argue that to punish children could be helpful for them because they would learn how to distinguish between true and false. I completely disagree that all kinds of punishment could be effective while there are various reasons and a variety of measures to be taken to tackle this issue which are given in this essay. It is obvious that physical punishment is the worst type of solution to teach young children, otherwise everyone would be a knowledgeable person by now. Although, to punish physically is considered as a traditional method of education and also construed as the easiest way of child up-bringing, there are various drawbacks and probable counterproductive outcomes associated with this method. For example, when I was a child, my parents used to hit me in case I had been rude or unrespectful to other individuals. As a result, I was continuing to say bad words more and more, and inversely, I did not follow my parents’ words. Punishment ought to be logically implemented in order to respond effectively. Actually, if it follows a cause-and-effect process, children will understand that choosing wrong decisions or doing inappropriate things can lead to inconvenience. This can be exemplified in being abandoned when a child does something annoying to other family members or his friends. As long as he is being ignored, he would figure out that being mean to others can contribute to undesirable outcomes. Hence, he would not repeat his bad behavior and learns how to treat properly. In conclusion, bringing up the children does not necessarily need not only intensive punishments but also it can be accomplished by implementing logical and harmless method of punishing. And I hope psychology would come up with new ideas in the upcoming future.