Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is not exaggerated to say that we are living in a world where science and technology are developing day by day. But there must be a history behind those glorious developments. Because of that, some people think that History is one of the most fundamental subjects at school. Other people believe that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. From my observation, I partly agree with both opinions because the importance of every subject must be equal. People believe that History is an important subject as students nowadays must learn and understand how hard their ancestors fought for the independence of the country to be grateful. What History could be taught in school might be the stories of war in their nations in the past, how the ancient civilization was born and collapsed, and how our ancestors lived in the extreme condition,…All of those profound lessons have taught young people to be sincerely grateful to love and contribute to the development of the country. Throughout humankind’s history, there were many failures, and History will teach students how to avoid making the same mistakes. In other words, while many people might believe that History merely defines who we are, which appears to be unnecessary for the future, I myself History helps us get motivated to improve our current unpleasant circumstances to brighten our own future. On the contrary, there is a dramatic availability of reasons why some people hold the notion that Science and Technology are more crucial. It is not only because these two subjects provide students with a stable foundation of logical thinking and critical thinking, but also because almost every occupation requires knowledge and qualifications in these fields. To paraphrase, humans need related expertise to apply into practice, create new inventions and rectify unexpected problems coming up fast and effectively. Plus, one can see that various technological devices based on the theories of these two modern fields are altering the ordinary kinds of stuff that people were getting trouble doing every day, enhancing the living standard of numerous individuals. For instance, washing machines, vacuum machines, cookers, air-conditioners, and computers... are contributing to a better experience at home and at work. Obviously, it is visible that there is equality for the three subjects. In fact, in my high school as well as in many others, although there was less time to learn History than Science and Technology in the syllabus, there were trips to visit history museums after every semester. In conclusion, all subjects hold the same important role in developing a student in different aspects. Science and Technology will be more useful for work but History will motivate students to work harder to contribute to their country wholeheartedly.