As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that businesses need to have public responsibilities. While generating profit is the top priority for each company, I agree that they should also conduct their business in a socially responsible manner. On the one hand, profit maximisation by corporations may have certain societal benefits. The more profits a business earns, the more taxes it pays to the government. For example, the authorities may have more revenue to spend in the fields, including education and health care, which improves the quality of life of the whole community. Corporations can grow their business by reaching huge earnings to expand new job opportunities within the community. However, Corporations must first maintain financial stability in order to accomplish those. Nevertheless, there are compelling reasons why corporations should recognise their social duties. The first reason is that their activities affect the environment, increasing the number of pollution, which in turn drives global warming, leading to many far-reaching consequences. For instance, they cause natural disasters such as floods, droughts, and habitat loss, worse than even threatening the lives of animals. Next, another reason is that companies contribute to the welfare of society and the environment, are received a positive view from consumers. For example, Starbucks Corporation purchases Fair Trade Certified ingredients and manufactures products committed to social responsibility, including sustainability and community welfare. I believe that businesses have social responsibilities that positively impact their profitability. To summarise, while I recognise that profit is the primary premise of business, I believe that all enterprises should deeply consider their social duties.