It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on the society?

It is true that the number of students who study science fields is not enough in comparison with needs in numerous parts of the world. This essay will explain some reasons for this issue and express its impact on society. There are two main factors for decreasing the number of students in the science fields. For the first reason, most science subjects are harder to study and also have longer graduate duration. Students like to choose easier courses and shorter graduate periods to enter the job market faster. For instance, a person who likes to be a doctor needs to study longer years in comparison to the other majors, and additionally, their lessons are too complicated. The next reason is the lack of information about science majors. It is caused by a lack of education in the school years. Most educational systems don’t have any effective programs to introduce the different types of fields, especially science. Their programs push the pupils toward specific majors such as business, which is the trend nowadays. This issue will have some effects on society. If the balance between the majors is broken, then in the near future, some jobs will face a lack of specialist staff, and other occupations will have a lot of graduate people without any job opportunities. In addition to causing frustration in the graduates, this incident causes society to depend on foreign experts, which can be out of the country’s control. To sum up, science plays an inevitable role in the growth of societies. However, in many countries, pupils have lost interest in the science fields, but it is important that governments and societies make situations for pupils to choose and study science like before.