The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently?

Motivation is the key to getting the work done by employees. Some people think that increasing payroll is the perfect way to inspire them to work to the optimum. I disagree with this as there are various ways of motivation to boost the morale of the staff. Although it seems that higher salaries help people to stay motivated and perform better. I don't believe that increasing income will keep them motivated for long periods. So to keep them going companies have to increase their pay from time to time, which is unsustainable for the long term as it will be too expensive for them. Incentives related to performance may work better than salaries as annual bonuses paid to workers will keep them motivated throughout the year. For instance, Banks pay annual bonuses to the staff according to their achievement, bonus may be from zero for low job performers to a significant amount for best performance. Therefore, it will keep them motivated to work toward their goals and to get maximum results. In addition to this, there is one non-monetary incentive, for example, choosing the employee of the month every month, which will motivate the institute to reach the target and feel good to be recognised by the authorities for their work. This is helpful to keep the staff motivated on regular basis. To conclude,increasing salaries is not only the source to keep the department motivated but there are various ways to motivate them. Different incentives inspire them to work with dedication and interest by keeping the company's financial situation under control.