Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent times, having meals with family is not in trend. There are certain reasons behind this such as developments outside and lack of time, and this is a positive trend as it promotes social connections from different norms. The prime reason behind this trend is the lack of time. By this I mean, most of the family members live miles away from home as fewer job opportunities and education in their hometown. To cite an example, in India, at least one or two members of the same family is working overseas in recent years. In order to visit family, they have to spend a lot of money and this situation forces them to stay there. Another pertinent reason is that, outside developments like cinemas, clubs, pubs, and international food outlets. To elucidate, in the past, the lack of outdoor activities force them to have meals with family all together, but due to the prevalence of outdoor attractions, people choose to go there. This not only provides happiness but also promotes social connections. However, sometimes lack of family time may pave the way for insecurity and psychological problems. Family meals are pivotal to making a strong bond between members and helping the healthy growth of children. For example, a seminal survey conducted by psychology students from NIMHANS, Banglore shows light on how unpleasant family situations of pupils' family background affect their academics. As a result, most of the pupils have depression and anxiety due to family issues and many of them are not interested to continue their studies at all. In conclusion, family meals are uncommon among the new generation as everybody respects individual freedom and happiness, although having a meal with a family improves the bonding between members.