Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as companions and workers to help at work and at home. Is this a positive or a negative development

With advancements in technology and robotic engineering, the human labour force is fast being replaced by machines, which are also providing companies for their users at home. I believe this is a negative development because it will result in a high rate of unemployment and eventually have a detrimental effect on human relations. Firstly, many organisations now depend on machines and robots to carry out tasks that were previously done by humans which has consequently caused unemployment to continue increasing at an alarming rate. While the use of these devices may benefit such companies, people who depend on these jobs will become jobless and may resort to crime or immoral behaviour to make ends meet. For example, many cashiers have been laid off because self-service tills have now been provided in many stores, Also bakers are not left out as many bakeries now use machines to make bread, cake and confectioneries from start to finish. Hence, I would argue that replacing human labour with mechanical interventions will eventually result in an unproductive society. Furthermore, the use of robots as friends and companions at home can result in a community where people have lost the sense of true friendship and interpersonal relations. In other words, we are meant to learn how to relate with our fellow humans by speaking and listening to them. However, the sense of human interaction is lost as robots cannot understand our true feelings, nor can they have any emotions to tell people how they want to be treated. Due to this reason, clients who utilize these products may become selfish, unaffectionate and abusive to real humans. In conclusion, machines have taken over the jobs which are meant for humans rendering many jobless and lacking true friendship and companionship. I believe this is highly detrimental to individuals and society at large.