Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is an undeniable fact that the world has witnessed a momentous technological leap in recent years as this has shaped how people spend their spare time on modern devices. Although there are some merits of using these / state-of-the-art tools for entertainment purposes, I would argue that drawbacks are of greater significance. On the one hand, there are a host of benefits arising from this tendency. Chief among these is that people can simply catch up latest trends or up-to-date news while surfing the internet whenever they want. By way of illustration, social media is now playing an indispensable role in exploring the common things between people or presenting an event that attracts a huge amount of engagement, which is often shared by online users. Another benefit inherited from this approach is that people can freely attain innovative knowledge which is related to their hobbies during their free time. Consequently, the findings for precious information that they desire to look up not only enhance their cognitive development but also ease their mind with curiousness being tackled in the meantime. Notwithstanding those above-mentioned advantages, I would maintain that the benefits have prevailed over the downsides. One of the most compelling reasons is that a mass amount of time can be wasted due to the endless entertainment on online media platforms. This can result in a lack of / a dearth of/ the scarcity of prowess to manage a timetable to sustain their daily routine, which can constantly make a person keep procrastinating everything without proper motivation. To add further credence to my assertion, taking advantage of electronic devices even outside the workforce can make a person feel isolated from contemporary society. Consequently, without awareness of this false misleading or having appropriate treatments, the individual is easily prone to depression, even autism. In conclusion, there are major benefits of applying technology to entertainment-related activities/ leisure pursuits like keeping oneself up with the trends and searching freely for information that broadens the mind. However, its drawbacks like being time-consuming and the problem of isolating from society should be taken into close consideration.