Many Manufactured Food and Drink Products Contain High Levels of Sugar, Which Causes Many Health Problems. Sugary Products Should Be Made More Expensive to Encourage People to Consume Less Sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many processed food and drinks are packed with sugar which leads to several health issues. I agree with the opinion, sweetener products should sell at higher prices to reduce their intake and to promote healthy options. Firstly, most sugary products are very cheap and this is the main reason behind higher consumption. For example, one of the most famous fast food restaurants Macdonalds offers free unlimited soft drinks with their meals. This is mainly to attract more customers but this is one of the biggest bad ideas in marketing which highly affect people's health. This leads people to drink more than one cup of drinks which contains high sugar levels and these regular habits will become the key reason to become unhealthy. If these companies place new tax policies or if they charge an additional cost per each extra cup of drink, there will be a considerable drop in overconsumption. On the other hand, when sweetened food becomes more expensive, people will automatically change their minds to buy healthier food options they can afford. One clear example is, if a person can buy a fresh bucket of oranges for half price of canned artificial orange juice, people will tend to buy fresh oranges and make their drinks at home. This can be considered as a better option where natural sugars included in food is less harmful to health. In conclusion, overconsumption of high-sweetened food products will cause several health issues. In order to reduce these unhealthy habits, sugary products should sell at higher prices which will force people to choose alternate healthier food options.