Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, it is omnipresent that children are addicted to technology and tend to spend hours playing computer games and sacrifice their time for doing sports. The reasons why this the phenomenon can be ascribed are manifold and I think it is a negative development. Of all the reasons why children spend so much time playing computer games, probably the most significant reason is that they can enjoy the excitement. Computer games have allowed children to get their pulse racing and their adrenaline pumping even when they are just sitting in front of the computer. For example, players are often required to complete some tasks within a certain time limit, where the excitement level is amplified by a sense of urgency. Another paramount factor is that computer games can give children a sense of accomplishment and they become easily addicted to them. A lot of computer games are equipped with the “level up” element, where they usually start off easy but then the difficulty gradually increases and players can earn “rewards”, like unlocking special elements and acquiring new skills, when they reach a certain level. This lures children to keep playing the games until they can reach the ultimate level. The excitement and sense of accomplishment drive children to splurge time on playing computer games and ignore doing sports. In my opinion, the aforementioned trend is without a doubt a negative development. Children tend to sit in front of the computer all day long and are reluctant to get involved in other social or sports activities. For example, children rather glue their eyes to the computer screen than participate in outdoor sports – obesity and cardiovascular diseases among children are not uncommon due to the lack of exercise. Not only are sports indispensable to their physical health, but they are also a crucial element in developing children ’s social skills. Many sports activities like football, basketball and volleyball involves teamwork and communication. Children ’s social life will also be reduced when they spend too much time surfing the Internet because they are involved in less face-to-face direct communication with other people. Sacrificing exercise time for playing computer games is detrimental to children ’s health, both physically and mentally. Under this line of thinking, the main reasons why children are addicted to computer games are they can bring about mental excitement and a sense of accomplishment. However, this has led to a decrease in exercise time among children, which is undoubtedly a negative trend and it is hoped that children can spend more time doing sports in the future.