Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this 21st century, technology have developed drastically and contributed to the different changes happening around us today. This can lead to addiction and excessive usage of different gadgets such as smartphones, which is mostly common among children. This essay will be discussing the reason for this trending issue, the merits and demerits together with my opinion. Firstly, adolescents and teenagers tends to use mobile phones often because of the things they find entertaining in them such as games,movies and animations or cartoons, which can have negative or positive impacts in their developmental stage. Furthermore, there are several disadvantages of frequent use of phones which includes distraction from studies and not having time to socialize with other family members. For instance, parent buy their kids phones for calls but instead the kids use the opportunity to play online games and watching cartoons. However, the advantages of phones includes, expanding the child's thinking ability by downloading games such as puzzle and scrabble which are brain storming which it also help increase their spelling and making them to know and learn life lesson from the educational movies they watched. To sum up, I think it is a positive development, although with parental guidance to direct and regulate the use phones and also help them make the best choices on what they should engaged in online.