The United Nations recently celebrated its 70th anniversary. What benefits has it brought during this time? Do you think the UN will last another 70 years?

Peace and prosperity are only possible in the modern world through a multilateral approach.United Nations was one such approach,when countries across the world joined hands,opening their eyes to the terrors of wars.It has been successful in playing its role to maintain world peace,for the most part at least and raising voices successfully for human rights. Nonetheless,I do not think it will last another 70 years due to its current state of unjust power distribution. To begin with, the UN was established with the purpose of restoring peace after the Second World War,and it is a success,mostly.UN has intervened in major world conflicts and caused cease-fire between them preventing massive losses of lives. For instance,one such cease-fire was signed under the UN security council resolution on the Kashmir issue,between India and Pakistan and a line of control was demarcated among them preventing further escalation. Hence, this multi-lateral initiative has been successful in achieving world peace. Similarly, the UN has successfully raised voices for human rights across the globe. Furthermore,it has also sent its peace -keeping missions to the countries where violations of human rights were taking place. For example,Bosnia was in chaotic conditions when UN peacekeepers took control and prevented further crimes against humanity. Thus,upholding human rights has been another achievement of the UN. To be honest,I do not think United Nations would last another 70 years,the reason being the lack of uniform distribution of power.The Security Council, is the reservoir of power in the world and is controlled by only some of the most powerful states that prioritise their own national interests over the world.To explain with an example,the occupation of Palestine is an issue unresolved due to the vested interests of some states. Therefore,I do not think this initiative may last long. To summarise, United Nations has been successful in achieving peace and has upheld human rights,for the better part at least. Nonetheless, the concentration of power with only a few powerful states may be a cause for its downfall.