In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

Some countries have a policy of not accepting potential workers due to their age, which can be either too young or too old. Although it might seem justifiable for a reason to reject job applicants for their age, I personally believe that it is a change for the better. On the one hand, it might be argued that turning down a potential employee owing to their age is not simply profitable for business owners. This is evidenced by different productivity levels at different ages. For example, a young child (who is 14 years old) or an elderly person (who is 65) is unlikely to excel at performing the duties of an employee whose job is labor-intensive, such as construction. Even if they have the capability to work for the entire shift, their productivity is nowhere near as high as someone’s who is in the prime, for example, at the age of 25. Despite the argument above, in my opinion, this policy should be seen as progress. Firstly, age is just a number, and if a candidate is a right fit for the job, then they should be hired because being young or old doesn’t necessarily mean that you are incapable. From my personal experience, I started my teaching career at the age of 15, and I have helped a large number of students learn English in a years’ time. The same applies to senior job applicants, who are sure that they can cope with the responsibilities. My grandfather is a clear case in point, who at his current age of 65 is perfectly managing the finances of our family business. Therefore, because having an employment is a basic human right, everybody ought to be presented with equal opportunities to have one. In conclusion, while employing people who are too young or too old might not make financial sense to employers, I believe that everyone should have equal employment chances no matter their age, as long as they are suitable for the job.