In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food than can be grown in their local area. As a result, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

INowadays, public debate has been going on about whether the advantages of people eating food that is not local outweigh the disadvantages. Some believe that mixing up the food cultures gives people the ability to absorb all possible nutrients that are needed for the body, also, buying food from other regions helps to support their economy. Others disagree stating that people ’s food -related needs are instiled in genes, thus, people should eat only regional cuisine and support their own farmers. Firstly, today's market and ability to transport food products have opened up ways for people to learn about different cultures, this has led to more and more people getting interested and promoting eastern culture due to liking their cuisine. In addition, by importing food products made elsewhere we are supporting other regions’ economies, thus allowing third -world counties to develop faster and more efficiently. In addition, some foods contain nutrients or minerals that are uncommon for the local foods, but still important to the optimal work of the organism, meaning, that by eating exotic food people are experiencing not only new flavours but also, the body soaks up all the nutrients that have not been introduced to the organism. This might lead to people feeling happier, more rested and energized. On the other hand, some say that generations before us always ate local foods and lived happily, thus we should not change traditions or the cuisine of the country. People who support such idea state that by eating uncommon foods people might affect their bodies in a harmful way because the geographical location of the country determines what edible products earth provides us, thus by eating exotic food we disturb the natural way of living and interfere with nature’s advise of what should be grown and eaten in one part of the region. In addition, local farmers also need support to keep up with the ever-growing demand for vegetables and other products, thus by buying locally-grown products people can support local businesses and protect them from being pushed out of the competition. All in all, the benefits for the body, the introduction of different nutrients, and the help for other countries' economies do not outweigh the disadvantages. Because there is a belief that by eating food that is not common for the region people interfere with the natural way of living and by supporting other regions’ economies we risk damaging our own.