People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Are there more advantages than disadvantages to such service?

Huge leaps in technology have led us to become more dependent on our smartphones as well as making us lazy in certain aspects. With the rise of language translation applications on the market, many individuals are choosing not to learn local languages before setting off on their travels. While some could argue there are many benefits to this, I am of the belief that they only serve to do more harm than good. In this essay, I will share my views as to why feel the disadvantages outweigh the benefits. Firstly, as a traveller myself, I have experienced a great attitude from locals on my journeys when approaching them for help, even though I may not be fluent in the local dialect. In my experience, this is down to the fact that, although I may not know every word, being able to say the most basic of things can elicit a good response. On the other hand, I've found that when using applications, especially with a more mature audience, locals may not take kindly and in some cases may take offence. Secondly, most apps can be very difficult and glitchy to use, as opposed to using a local book that provides a similar experience. Furthermore, the extent to which you can operate any particular app is reliant on a multitude of things. For example, without the internet, they are deemed useless. In addition, if you are asked to speak into the microphone there could be difficulty in picking up what was said. Moreover, even with live translation, unless very clear, there is a limit to what you can achieve, whereas other resources can be fully exploited. In conclusion, I believe it's best for individuals to make the effort to learn about the place they are going to travel to, so that they may thrive.