Some people argue that arts such as painting and music are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In the modern world, people are more concerned with new technology rather than arts. Due to this reason, some critics argue that there is no importance in spending money on arts and, it should be allocated for the development of public services instead. I disagree with this statement because arts also play an important role in developing the human mind. Firstly, I would like to discuss the importance of arts for the development of society. It is a well-known fact that the majority of people in modern society have busy schedules in their lives due to day-to-day business. This has increased their mental stress level and made it hard to maintain a balance between work and life. Engaging in art activities such as painting and music helps people to relax their minds and supports them to recover from many mental disorders. Also, it has been proven by scientists that, entertaining activities are essential to improve the creative thinking of human beings. The aforementioned facts confirm the importance of arts for the development of mankind. Next, I will brief you on the importance of maintaining good public services in a country and why people think that money spent on art education is a waste. It is vital to have quality public services such as transport and medical facilities in order to maintain good living standards in a country. With no such facilities, we can not expect that people will have a comfortable life even though they have chances to engage in more art related activities. Also, many people find that knowledge of art subjects is not important for most of the jobs available in the market. Therefore, some people believe that fund allocation for arts is not beneficial. To summarize, there is no doubt that having good public services is a mandatory requirement for the development of a country and the government should give high priority to that. Yet, arts are similarly important for the development of mankind, especially when it comes to mental health. Hence, allocating money for arts can not be considered a waste. Further, the government should think of alternative ways of earning funds for developing public services instead of cutting down the budget allocation for arts.