Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that the lack of strict regulation by government authorities is the main reason why global environmental problems have not yet been solved. Personally, I believe that the responsibility should be equally borne by other market participants. There is no denying that governments should bear a large fraction of the burden to mitigate the emerging global climate crisis. Given their strong regulatory powers and influence, a concerted effort by countries around the world could accelerate the global green energy transition through policies that, for example, penalise manufacturers for unrestricted water use and legacy sewage systems, while imposing a green tax on those whose carbon emissions exceed set tolerance thresholds. On the other hand, I believe that environmental problems cannot be solved by the authorities alone; individuals and businesses around the world can also contribute to improving the environment. While they have no legal authority to punish anyone, their environmental choices can send a tremendous educational message to those who lack environmental awareness. For example, brick-and-mortar businesses switching to low-carbon appliances and facilities, and individual consumers recycling and green purchasing can draw a great deal of public attention to the urgency of nature conservation. As the number of sustainable communities grows, offenders who refuse to follow suit may not be welcomed into the marketplace, and in turn, their access to funding and potential customers will diminish. In conclusion, I do not agree that solving the global climate problem is the obligation of one party, as people and entities around the world consume natural resources together and face the effects of the same environmental catastrophe. At the end of the day, everyone should be committed to making the planet a better place.