The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a significant increase in the number of vehicles on British roads from 1881 to 2000. It's often argued that encouraging to use alternative forms of transport and initiating international laws to control car ownership and uses is advantageous. First of all, I believe that a high volume of vehicles on the roads over time could adversly affect humans and the environment. Over the years the rates of air, water and soil pollution have increased due to greenhouse gas emissions and oil leaks from vehicles and on the other hand there is a significant increase in the number of road traffic accidents. In my opinion, few ways in which we can urge people to use alternative forms of transport is by introducing new transportation forms such as monorails and underground metro etc. and making the existing public transport more comfortable and accessible to people of all ages in both urban and rural areas. At the same time initiating international laws to control car ownership and uses would be of great help to overcome the previously mentioned issues. To conclude, I strongly believe it is highly beneficial to have less number of vehicles on roads by encouraging people to use alternative forms of transport in order to save humans and our mother nature from the adverse effects of greenhouse gas emissions.