Some people believe that parents should limit their hours of watching TV and playing computer games for children, but instead encourage to read books. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, advancement in technology has revolutionalised how children spend their free time. Engaging in online games or watching television are becoming more common nowadays. Some people think that children are better off reading books than playing games online while others think otherwise. I believe if done in moderation, children can gain benefits via the former activities. First of all, valuable knowledge can be gained via educational computer games. Moreover, it is a more interesting and interactive option for children to engage in learning. For example, programmes like Word Search, Sudoku and Fill The Missing Words allow children to master their vocabulary better. Some games that involve teamwork will aid to instill this skill in them. Furthermore, TV shows such as Ted Talk and Discovery Channels allow children to learn while relaxing, killing two birds with one stone. Even more, parents can watch these programmes together with their children, making the family bonds stronger. While some might prefer reading books, it can be quite dull and boring for young children as they can not interact with them directly.It also lacks the interface that computer games offer which would attract children to spend long hours with. Books might not be available as easily as gadgets such as computers and mobile phones are everywhere in this modern society. In summary, I believe that children can learn better with the correct computer games and TV shows rather than reading books.Parents will need to monitor their children so they don't lose track of time and become addicted to computer games so their studies will not be affected negatively.