More and more people buy a wide range of household goods like television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Recently, the number of people buying household goods, such as television, microwave oven and rice cooker has increased significantly. I believe that this has been a good development because by having access to this equipment, people's lives have changed for the better. In this essay I am going to explain why and support this with some examples. To begin with, owning a television means that our society can watch different programmes which can be informative and entertaining. Also, people might learn a new skill from television programmes, which might not have happened if there was no access to it. For example, in 2020, during the lockdown, people all over the world, watched and performed a fitness programme which was only shown on TV. It helped keep people fit physically and mentally. Another reason why I think that buying goods has improved people's lives is that society as a whole has become busier than in the past, this means that we should also adapt to make life easier. Buying equipment, such as a rice cooker or a microwave oven, leads to reducing time while cooking. This is convenient, especially for working people with young families. For instance, cooking a meal in the past would have taken double the amount of time needed to cook a meal today. Most of the dishes are prepared, all you need to do is heat them in the microwave and them serve. In conclusion, although there might be some against it, I am certain that our society's lives have improved significantly since we were able to have access to household goods.