The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advanced technology which can prevent and solve the crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is argued that the development of technology can help prevent and resolve crimes. Although this can be true to a certain extent, it is my firm belief that technology can be used as a tool for crimes. On the one hand, there are certain reasons why technological development is beneficial to decreasing infractions. First, with the development of the internet, it is easier to alert people about a criminal. When information about wrongdoings is spread on the internet, many people will know and can avoid them. Therefore, the number of people who become victims of these infractions will decrease. Second, with the surveillance of security cameras, offences are detected faster and more easily. When public places are under the monitoring of the authorities, there will be fewer criminals. For example, in Dalat, when there are cameras to observe the main roads, the number of illegal races decreases. On the other hand, I personally believe that new technology may be used by criminals to commit offences. To begin with, when technology develops, a lot of people use the internet and create conditions for criminals to act. When people use the internet but do not have enough knowledge about it, criminals can take advantage of everyone’s lack of understanding and take their property. To illustrate this point, nowadays, there are many old people who are deceived by online criminals. Moreover, there are a lot of illegal forms of online trading through the limitations of network security. The internet has become an ideal place for trafficking in banned substances and smuggling. In conclusion, although technological advancements can help prevent many crimes in society, I am firmly convinced that they may become crime tools.