While studying abroad provides an opportunity to broaden one’s experience, as also present the danger of letting influence from the host culture. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years,the search for greener pastures has been a pandemic trend. Thus, people tend to travel to another country to acquire more knowledge and get exposed to different opportunities. Some people argue that this could have an impact on one's culture. I strongly disagree with this statement. Firstly, the value of one ethnic group plays an important role. Therefore, if people value their traditions, there won' t be any amount of pressure from other societies that can make them deviate. For instance, a family friend travelled to India for schooling, reaching there,she received a cultural shock but she adapted to their system and after 5years of studying she came back and continue her normal life. There is a saying that when you are in Rome, you behave like Romans. She respected their culture and follows their traditions during the period of her stay but that didn' t change her beliefs about her customs. Furthermore, there are good opportunities in traveling outside one geographical location but the influence of tradition is based on personality. In other words, it is if an individual decides to let other cultures influence him because most countries won' t force you in accepting their beliefs and customs but one has to respect them whilst they live there. For example, one who travelled may have a change in dialect due to constant communication or dressing due to change in weather but their traditions won' t be forced upon them because everyone has their own belief. To sum up, travelling to other countries has given people chances to gain different skills as well as opportunities they want to explore. However, one has the choice to choose if they will be influenced by another culture or not.