Due to rise in crime, the use kf cctv cameras at publicplaces is increasingly day by day .what are the advantages and disadvantages of using cctv cameras at public places?

Crimes are increasing at an alarming rate which is concerning for everyone. The use of CCTV cameras in neighbourhoods is increasing every day because of the rise in crime. We will discuss the pros and cons of using cameras in public areas in the next paragraphs. Firstly, we will go through the benefits of installing cameras at public joints. It has become normal to set up CCTV cameras in spots like bus stations, railway stations, parking etc. Furthermore, when some crime happens on such sites, it becomes a cakewalk for the police to track down the bad elements of society. For instance, a survey conducted by an international media firm states that criminals tend to do 40 per cent less crime if they are aware of the cameras. In addition to that, sometimes families lose their children in crowded venues. Recordings come in handy to find the missing kids. On the other hand, there are many disadvantages to installing this equipment. Data has become the new oil. This statement applies to every electronic device which collects data and camera recordings are no exception. Many big firms collect input to use in their algorithms and predict human behaviour. Moreover, many big firms and governments misuse this info. For example, in Hongkong, the Chinese government used cameras to detect the people who were fighting against them with the help of face detection. In such cases, we can say that technology is taking over the freedom of the community. To conclude, we can predict that installing cameras in public places has more advantages than disadvantages. Besides, the administration should make some policies to keep the freedom of individuals in mind.