The best manager is one who is warm and friendly with their staff. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that those who are warm and friendly make the best managers. In the essay, I will discuss the reasons why some may think this way and then, I will further elaborate and the other valuable traits that are required in a management position to explain why I disagree with this statement. To begin with, the reason that many argue that being warm and friendly is a good trait in the best leader is because a manager with this type of personality tends to be easier to approach. It is important for a leader to connect with their team and provide comfort for them to engage with the supervisor. For instance, when a boss greets the new employees with warm welcomes and smiles, it will help the newcomers feel more comfortable and may help to adapt to the environment quickly. On the other hand, I believe that there are other traits and factors that are valuable to leading a team. Although being easy to approach is important, overall it is more important for a leader to have problem-solving skills and knowledge within the domain. In order to solve a problem that a company is facing, it requires domain knowledge. Then, the supervisor can utilise their problem-solving skills to allocate tasks to the team and have the team work together in an effective way and to work towards the goal. For example, when a worker calls in sick, it is a manager's duty to make sure that the shift is covered and that the arrangement made within the team can still operate the tasks as usual. To conclude, being warm and friendly is important as a leader. However, I believe teamwork makes the dream work. Therefore, I believe having domain knowledge and problem-solving skills are the non-negotiable traits of a great leader.