In many large cities, people waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion- one the roads. What are the causes of this? What solution can you suggest?

Cities gave us a better life but also brought us trouble. In research, people usually spend at least one hour on the way to the working place, for example, in London or Beijing. Traffic congestion is a common problem in many megacities. Lots of factors influence that, including the changing lifestyle and the functional proportion of urban. On the one hand, the changing of lifestyle could be a most important element. However, we don't go to any places in the city for a walk. The modern city is a huge monster for us and the population of megacities in the world are more than 10M in recent years as well. for instance, Tokyo's population reached 30M and is becoming bigger. Whether driving by yourself or taking public transit, wasting our time every day is subsequently inevitable. On the other hand, the situation that the rich class living in suburban and the poor living downtown is done and cannot be changed. As the result, commuting becomes an extremely big waste of time nowadays. Furthermore, there are some potential solutions that can be considered. Firstly, keep developing public road systems is a good way to reduce the waste of time. In addition, cutting the scale of the super metropolis might be another solution. Finally, we can change the functional zoning of a metropolis. The resident zone and commercial zone could be mixed together in the future. In conclusion, different countries and areas have their own methods to deal with transit problems. People would make their specific decision to resolve the transport congestion issue ultimately.