Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world . Why is this? What are the advantages and disadcantages of solar energy.

Everyone is aware of the environmental crisis these days, but solar energy is emerging as an eco-friendly energy source. Although solar energy has a lot of merits, its drawback should not be ignored. The aim of this essay is to explore both points of view and I will elucidate my opinion at the end of this essay. To begin with, solar energy is environmentally friendly as it does not produce any greenhouse gases in contrast to fossil fuels. Besides, solar energy is comparatively cheap as we could get solar energy everywhere during the day. Moreover, the Sun provide unlimited energy to the earth, thus we do not have to worry about the depletion of energy source. Lastly, if we have small solar energy panels, we could get electricity anywhere. In other words, the method of getting energy is more convenient and comfortable than other sources, thus in the future we might see many people around us attaching energy panels to our bodies to charge electronic devices. On the other hand, solar energy is still far away from us, as it has still fatal demerits. Most of all, though it has no price to get energy from the sun, the price of the initial installation of panels is huge. We need a huge place to set up all panels, besides very sophisticated skills are required as the angle of panels should be toward the sun. All these should be done by elaborate high-level engineers. Furthermore, the amount of solar energy we can get from the sun is varying depending on the weather or regions. For example, if the weather is terrible due to rainy seasons or if we try to set up solar energy panels in high latitudes such as the arctic region, it is almost impossible to get efficient energy. To sum up, it is irrefutable that solar energy is one of the top clean energy which we have to pursue in the future to stop global warming. However, I firmly support the idea that it is not a good idea for all energy should be replaced with solar energy considering all kinds of disadvantages.