Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. what are the reason for this. Is this a positive or negative development?

Varied opinions have been put on the table when it comes to free time. However, shopping is one of the favourite activities in people's free time, many argue that this time could be utilised more efficiently as it was done earlier choosing their hobbies. On the one hand, the transition to a developing nation has created multiple shopping complexes with various brands to attract people. Furthermore, improvement in earnings due to enhanced per capita income put more money into the common man's pockets. Adding to this, the online shopping options made it easier to hover through multiple products on a digital screen to get them delivered to the doorstep. To elaborate, a report by "Times of India" revealed that amid covid surge online shopping business jumped 200% and the average time spent by an individual on the screen to purchase stuff is 4 hours per day. On the other hand, this advancement has multiple drawbacks. Firstly, shopping is entirely taking away the free time humans have for improvement and making this world a better place to live. Secondly, the young generation having the most energy in this demography is spending the most valuable resource of their life i.e. time on shopping rather than choosing other activities like writing, reading, inventing and exploring. Finally, the rich are getting richer and the poor are losing their hard-earned money by buying the material they don't need. To illustrate, brand outlets or online application tech owners are making money through the new addiction of humans and sucking their energy and money in this fake world. To conclude, although shopping is giving an economic boost to the nation it has many negative developments too. As soon as a nation realises the drawbacks and moves forward in the right direction it will lead to prosperity and happiness among the common folks.