Many companies sponsor sports to advertise their products or service. What advantages and disadvantages does this bring for the teams and individuals that these companies sponsor?

A lot of organizations and companies now sponsor sporting activities to showcase what they sell. To each individual and team, it serves as a source of additional income and also as a brand but there are a few drawbacks. One evident benefit to sportsmen from companies branding sports events is that aside from their weekly wages, it serves as an additional financial source to them. In other words, many of them find this avenue as another way to earn more money as sports professionals. For instance, the top-rated multiple award-winning footballer; Cristiano Ronaldo became the highest-earning footballer following several endorsement deals from Puma, Nike and Adidas. Another reason why financing sports by several institutions is beneficial to sporting teams is that they become the official brand of those teams. In the sense that, each team have a unique name attached to themselves hence are able to maintain popularity, uniqueness and marketability. On the other hand, this could be disadvantageous to sports players and teams. One is that a taunt In the reputation of a brand could negatively affect a team. Meaning that, if a brand should have an offensive popularity, it could lead to a loss of fans for the team they represent. This also goes for individual players. Furthermore, in addition, many it these companies are only in for businesses, so, if a team or player is not performing well, they could withdraw their partnership and move to others. On many occasions, the team or players are left at the receiving end. For example, during a social media outrage on account of a popular footballer kicking his dog pet, he recorded a significant loss of endorsements and almost became bankrupt. In summary, on the players ' end, there are several plus to many agencies sponsoring sports however, the side effects cannot be underplayed. Meanwhile, branding sports will actually go a long way in benefiting a team and the players financially.