Some people believe that people who read books for pleasure can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that people reading books have better linguistic skills and are more imaginative rather than those preferring to watch television. In my personal perspective, I agree with the former view because books do not provide visual aesthetics that help to develop imagination and also enhance the vocabulary of readers. First of all, book readers are found to be more imaginative than those who watched TV. This is because, TV is an audio-visual means of entertainment and books are not. Books just provide the written explanation of any story, situation or scenario that allows readers to imagine it. Further, reading books helps gain various types of information and knowledge which help readers ' minds to think in many dimensions. Also, book readers develop better language skills than TV watchers. While watching TV, one is into enjoying the scene but the readers have to understand each sentence while reading and they have the tendency to look for the meaning of the words as well as a deep understanding of the sentence. For instance, when you are taking IELTS classes, it is recommended to read books a lot if you wants to develop your grammar and vocabulary. In conclusion, people with a hobby of reading books are benefitted more from the developed creativity and linguistic skills compared to those who watch television.