In some cities, the government has tired to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hours. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

Traffic jam during rush hours has been a topic that stirred up a controversy in several countries especially developing ones. Collecting transportation tax can be a way to solve this problem. In this essay, my opinion towards this policy will be discussed. Public transporations transportations availability is the first consideration topic if the congestion tariff will be applied as it is a replacing commute method for residences in the city. If the subway and bus routes are widely covered and can be accessed from all over the city, the congestion tax imposed thoery will be positively practical to existing drivers as they have another choice of commuting instead of driving aprivate private car. This mindset can be applied to big cities in developed countries like Japan, Taiwan, or Singapore which will help to reduce the traffic jam issue during the rush hours. However, this policy will give a negative effect towards the country that do not readily provide other commuting options to people. The number of private car usage will slightly decrease or remain almost the same because the drivers do not have many options to replace the car driving. Instead, this regulation will increase household expenses and consequently lead to country's GDP problem. To conclude, the tax imposion imposed regulation is only effective if the government has provided another commuting options for the residences. Otherwise, the traffic jam issue will not be addressed and futher could lead to another economic problems.