Some older people struggle with the use of modern electronic technology such as smartphones and computers. Write the causes and propose solutions.

In recent years, a large number of seniors suffer from the introduction of massive technological breakthroughs. This is due to the fact that they are unable to cope with them. Before reaching viable solutions to this issue, it is evenly significant to investigate its root causes. In the following lines both the main factors and some steps forward to tackle this issue will be reviewed detailedly. From a general perspective, the reasons for this alarming issue essentially emanate from the wide gap between old people and the era they currently exist in. To elaborate, in their youth, the retirees used to live their life simply away from sophisticated means of communication or transportation. Accordingly, it is uneasy for them to make use of personal laptops or cell phones as these devices call for special faculties to utilize them. Another point related to this notion is the hectic life that people strive for nowadays which makes seniors feel isolated from their offspring who should be the major channel for teaching their parents how to better harness such sorts of gadgets. Lastly, a considerable sector of old people did not reach the tertiary education stage. Due to that, their mindsets are not appropriate to comprehend the complicated functions of these modern appliances. Despite the numerous hurdles that the older generation encounters in its rapport with technology, a number of prolific actions could be taken to mitigate the deleterious impacts of this problem. Firstly, the role of the grandchildren cannot be overlooked as they could approach their seniors to provide them gently with the proper instructions to deal with these cutting-edge instruments. Furthermore, television and other mass media channels should share the responsibility by adopting creative initiatives to raise social awareness towards this vexing issue and telecast technological educational programs directed particularly to old people. To recapitulate, it is widely acknowledged that retirees are often unable to build a staunch rapport with modern technology because of its seismic shift; nevertheless, this dilemma could be overcome by assisting them to bridge the age gap and have some efficient faculties to stay updated with today’s life and join the ranks of the high-tech users.