Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The working field is quite different than what it used to be a few decades ago. It has been observed that many people pick freelancing over working for organisations. I would argue that this situation is caused by the aknowledgement of the endless possibilities that come with having control over one’s own career choices. This freedom, though, comes with consequences, as lacking a stable schedule can be highly stressful for many reasons that will be analyzed below. Regarding the factors that have played a role to preferring self-employment, it is true that thanks to advancing technology, the average person has access to more sources and options than ever before. Internet, for instance, allows people to expand their skillset, learn business strategies and contact potential partners and clients from all around the world. Also, hearing about multiple success stories further pushes individuals to take matters in their own hands and pursue their dream jobs. Being a company worker means havning a threshold not only in income, but in skill growth as well, which is why it is not ideal for many. On the other hand, choosing freelance can affect a person negatively in many ways, as leaving a steady job equals letting go of an important safety net. For example, typical company workers have a stable working time schedule and are able to rely on a fixed income per month, not to mention the benefits that their company provides. Having no standard working schedule and salary can be harmful, as a lot of people tend to overwork themselves or stuggle to find enough clients to cover their financial needs. Overall, I believe that having freedom over one’s career could lead to prefering working on their own, The people who choose this path, though, must be prepared to let go of the sense of safety that comes with working a steady job. It seems that many are willing to take this risk.