These days, people prefer to throw damaged items away, while in the past, they used to repair and use things for a long time. Why do you think this change has happened? What are the effects of this change?

It is true that people in industrialised nations prefer to replace their broken items with brand-new products rather than fix them. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this and how this tendency has some negative effects. Firstly, mass production from factories produces more product options for consumers. If the people who broke their items even replaced the items for some reason, they can purchase a new item easily from grocery stores or e-commerce websites. Secondly, many products have to repair by professionals who have special equipment and facilities at a higher price. For example, the tools for repairing consumer electronic products such as speakers and headphones are special and professional knowledge is needed. Even repairing the item is more expensive than buying a new product. Hence, many people do become accustomed to throwing away the crashed stuff. Finally, the advertisements acts as a strong persuasion to hypnotise people into buying new goods. Therefore, people have more options to replace their old and broken items instead of repairing and refurbishing them. The most important consequence of this behaviour is that all the raw and natural materials such as trees, metal and fossil fuels are consumed quickly which destroys the global ecology system. Furthermore, more industrial waste is produced come at a huge cost to the governments to process abandoned products and non-degradable materials. It will be a burden for governments and green organisations to solve the pollution problems and rise a large expenditure. In conclusion, several potential reasons cause to this phenomenon, and it brings negative impacts to our future.