Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

In the modern world, people do not have as much free time as they used to, which is why they have become very selective as to how they spend their time. I would argue that many individuals have drifted away from the fine arts because they are not considered vital for one’s survival. To change this point of view, I would suggest beginning early with children’s education. Regarding the reasons why there is generally less interest in creating and admiring different art forms; it is quite likely that individuals choose to focus on areas that are considered vital for their financial stability. A very good example is the fact that modern trends in interior design favour minimalism over complex and detailed designs, lowering the chances of artists to work on time-consuming pieces that would ensure them a high income. On the other hand, humanity is constantly advancing in technological and scientific fields, and therefore people will easily lean towards subjects related to that. By that I mean, often talents and skills are overlooked in order to focus on current trends. Hence, society seems to disregard those who appreciate artistic beauty. In order to shift this mindset, it is critical for individuals to start appreciating the benefits of art during their education, while they are still developing. For instance, it could be very beneficial to teach students how to express themselves and communicate their thoughts via different art forms, such as music, acting, and painting. Using them in such a way would help young people to understand their value, and this could eventually carry through to adulthood. Overall, I believe that the rise of hard sciences has led society to believe that fine arts are unimportant. Thus, adding more creative activities to the educational system would be a good step towards changing these beliefs, leading people to reconsider what is worthy of their attention