Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

The issue of whether or not people's personalities depend mainly on genetic variations is certainly a contentious one. Although there are valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that human characters are highly based on different situations that they encounter on daily bases and their communication with surrounding society. In this essay, 2 of the primary reasons why I totally disagree with this statement will be further elaborated. To embark on, the first and also the most crucial factor that determines humans' characters is the various conditions in which they have lived and various situations they have been through. This means that when people live in a civilized and modern atmosphere, they will try to adapt by gradually modifying their characters in order not to feel odd in this new environment. One particularly salient example of this is the primary difference in the traits of people who reside in urban areas and those who are in metropolises. Thus, what can be said is that people tend to modify their behaviours according to their surrounding environment. Further and even more importantly, though, is the massive impact of human interaction on their ways of thinking. In other words, children's behaviours massively depend on their communication with their families and contact with their peers. Subsequently, if teenagers are maltreated during their childhood, they will become more aggressive and vulnerable to violence. This can be witnessed by the famous American TV show entitled " Dr. Oz" which has revealed that people's actions are greatly affected by their childhood. Hence, I would contend that people's actions are greatly influenced by their early life. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned it can be reiterated that not only do various situations shape people's personalities, but also their ways of interaction with surrounding individuals. Therefore, I am convinced that the genetic factor has no salient role in such a character.