Some people say the Olympic games are not relevant in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The Olympics which began over 2000 years ago is one of the most coveted international sporting events in the world. Although many countries participate in this event every 4 years, people debate that it has lost its relevance in the 21st century. In my opinion, the Olympics is not outdated and holds value even in current times and hence I disagree with this view. This essay will discuss why it has a role to play in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the Olympics brings a sense of national pride because participants represent their countries. Many athletes compete under their national banners for the intangible benefits, it is more for the glory as their entire country renders support to them. For instance, when Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt broke the world record and won a gold medal in the men’s 100 meters at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, the entire nation of Jamaica rose in celebration. Therefore, the Olympic games today are pertinent and continued participation is deemed necessary. Moreover, the sheer magnitude of the Olympic games provides a platform to understand cultural diversity. When sports players from around the world compete together, values and traditions are exchanged and appreciated with the spirit of sportsmanship. During the 2012 Olympics, for example, athletes from diverse nations around the world displayed their respective cultures through traditional dress, music, and art. These displays further the cause of international understanding, and aid in forging better relationships between nations and hence significant even in the 21st century. In conclusion, the Olympic games are symbolic sporting events that are still sought-after these days. I firmly believe that the Olympics is the pinnacle of every athlete’s career, and to qualify nationally to represent their country is an honor for them, it is expected to continue its dominance in the future too.