These days, people prefer to throw damaged items away, while in the past, they used to repair and use things for a long time. Why do you think this change has happened? What are the effects of this change?

While in the past, people used to try to repair damaged items and use them for a long time, nowadays these items are more likely to be thrown away and replaced with a new one. The reasons for this change in human behaviour is due to the developed economy and influnce of media. Firstly, people in modern world earn more then they used to, therefore, they are now afford to buy new and more modern products. In the past, personal income was still low, therefore, with the limited earning, people tended to use an item for a long period of time and try to fix any broken part in order to increase the lifespan of the product. However, the economy has perform better which helps to increase workers' wages. Moreover, with the advance of technology, production is costing less which helps to reduce the cost of commodity compared to personal earning. As a result, people now have more money to spend on more commodity and they normally prefer to buy new stuffs even to replace the old product with the same function even if the old one is still in good use. Secondly, our socielty is significantly influenced by the advertising industry. It is easily to find a piece of advertisement anywhere and anytimes in our lives. There are adverts on televisions, radios, magazines, billboards, and even projectors installed in schools and universities. advertisements are mostly used to persuade people to buy new products, therefore, it promotes consumer culture. People from all age groups, even children, are influenced by this culture which encourge encourages them to spend more money on buying new stuffs instead of spending money on repairing and maintainent maintained. One othe other possible reason is that the cost of producing new product is less than repairing an old broken one, therefore there are more business offer to replace an old product with a newer model to their customers rather than doing repair and maintainance. In general, people nowadays are more likely to replace an broken item rather than trying to fix and use them for longer time because their increased earning enables them to be afford for buying newer and more model products. Adertisement is also the main reason for promoting a culture of consumption rather than repair and maintainment maintaining.