All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree?

During the twentieth century, people around the world began using vehicles powered by fossil fuels, and in this new millennium that trend has continued, with a vast uptick in the number of privately owned cars. However, it has become apparent that this phenomenon is causing major environmental damage and needs to be stopped. This essay will argue that humans ought to switch to electric cars. The damage done by traditional style cars is obvious. One only needs to look at a big city like Beijing or Los Angeles to see the vast smog clouds lingering over highways to recognize that these vehicles are emitting unpleasant chemicals from their exhausts. Scientific studies over the past few decades have confirmed that these chemicals cause significant damage to our health and our environment, as they turn into acid rain or are inhaled into our lungs, where they cause certain types of cancer. This is in addition to the fact that fossil fuels are a finite resource, and that their extraction from the earth is often incredibly destructive. On the other hand, electricity can be generated in any number of ways, many of which are relatively harmless. It is possible to generate electricity from the wind or sun, thereby gathering energy without damaging the earth or causing harm to human beings. As an infinite source of energy that can be gathered and used without harm, it is obvious that electricity is the power that should drive cars in the future. In conclusion, traditionally powered vehicles are destroying our world and need to be phased out in favour of electric vehicles. Electricity can be generated harmlessly and endlessly and is therefore superior to fossil fuel.