SOME SCHOOL LEAVERS TEND TO GO TRAVELLING OR WORK A PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE GOING TO UNIVERSITY. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Children ’s academic performance is given top priority to most families, and if it is essential for children to study art has become an important concern for parents and society. From my perspective, art is an essential subject for children at school even though it may inevitably sacrifice the precious learning time. Admittedly, encouraging children to spend more time on getting involved in art courses may possibly lead to the potential risk of slipping test scores periodically, which is particularly noteworthy under the present education system, where the exam grade is still the most critical and direct criterion to determine whether a child can be admitted to an ideal school and have a bright future. What is more, vivid and interesting art classes may even provide the incentive for children to escape relatively boring academic learning with the plausible excuse of calculating their taste, which will also exert negative impact on children ’s academic progress. However, promoting children ’s art taste and mental well-being through encouraging routine art activities should be attached more importance. For one thing, taking an active part in art subject is beneficial to find and understand beauty, which is a prerequisite for loving life. CAI Yuanpei, a famous Chinese educator, said: "The purpose of aesthetic education is to cultivate people's feelings. It will guide children to purify their hearts, develop a noble and pure personality, and pursue all good things." As is known to all, academic learning process generally means long periods of left brain logical thinking training, participating in more art classes can effectively help children to exercise the right brain abstract art thinking. For another, parents can help to relieve their children ’s stress by encouraging them to draw or paint, given that the resulting hormonic level change of engaging in art subject is conducive to the release of tension derived from the busy study schedule, which is also of great value to improve learning efficiency in the long term. In conclusion, I believe that parents and society should encourage children to allocate more time to participate in art courses considering the positive influences mentally and if arranged properly, it can also, to some extent, facilitate the learning process. "Because art is an extension of the human spirit. The life of a man who lives in a world completely cut off from beauty is exhausted."