Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many healthy problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, diabetes has become a major problem in every generation. It has been often argued that the cost of sugary products should be increased to reduce the consumption of sugar. This essay will discuss the agreement and disagreement of the masses with the statement with relevant examples. I completely disagree that sugar products should be more expensive. Undoubtedly, some people think that the intake of a large number of sweet products is very dangerous for health. In other words, manufactured products lead to many health problems like obesity, diabetes, cholesterol and also heart problems and hiking the prices of these products may be helpful in lessening the consumption of sugar products. Secondly, people mostly younger generations are becoming addicted to cold drinks, soft drinks and also packaging foods. This addiction can be controlled by increasing the price of these products because most people may not be able to afford these items. For example, most of the students who are not independent financially may reduce the use of packaging foods because of their incapability of purchasing these products. On the contrary, increasing the price of sugar can become a problem for many people because many middle-class families are dependent on these products for their livelihood like bread, pasta and also many other foods. Instead of increasing prices, we should inform people about the negative effects of the intake of much sugar. Moreover, awareness programs should be run to aware people of the necessity of reading labels and ingredients of manufacturing products to encourage people to consume less sugar. To conclude, this essay has discussed the agreement and disagreement on the increasing cost of sugary products. According to my perspective, instead of hiking the prices of packaged foods, people should be aware of the negative effects of excessive intake of these products.