As a result of tourism and increasing number of people travelling, there is an growing demand for more flights. What problem does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

The phenomenon of an upsurge in the use of aeroplanes has aroused wide concern among various circles. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of the increasing number of trips, the government and individuals can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. To begin with, of all the reasons why more flights bring detrimental effects on the environment, probably the most significant is global warming. Greenhouse gases, like carbon dioxide and methane trap heat in the atmosphere, which is known as the greenhouse effect, causing the global temperature to rise above the optimal level. It is true that each flight emit a large amount of exhaust fume. Research conducted by Monash University demonstrates that millions of carbon dioxide will be emitted in one flight, which reveals that air travels hinder our environment.With the skyrocketing of airlines due to the boost in travel, thus the greenhouse effect will then intensifies and in turn aggravate global warming. Under no circumstance should we overlook the fact that natural habitats might be negatively affected. A large sum of creatures are becoming endangered or even on the binge of extinction due to the change in the climate. For instance, the glaciers are melting, and the species, like polar bears suffering an increase in temperature. As a result, the biodiversity and natural balance are hampering the creatures. Nevertheless, there are severe actions that the government and individuals could take to solve the challenges described above. The foremost measure is that the government could legislate laws to control the total air travel per day. In fact, diminishing air travel from around 500 flights to 250 flights each day can halve the number of carbon emissions. If decline the greenhouse gas emission level, it definitely can mitigate the global warming situation. In this way, this measure can create a deterrent effect the airline companies and hence eliminate the trouble in short term. It is also worth noting that the public ought to reduce the use of aeroplanes and switch to other transportation. As we all know the amount of carbon dioxide level by air transport far exceeds other transportation modes, ranging from bus and train to tram. If the general public raises awareness of protecting the climate, they tend to take other transports to the destination place. On a whole, the council and the folk can help to diminish the above hurdles. In a nutshell, although the growing demand for aeroplanes may worsen global warming as well as hinder natural wildlife, the crowd and the authority can try to change the mode of transport and pass on laws to eliminate the obstacles and it is hoped that our environment will become better after launching different measures.