More and more people move from the countryside to big cities. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages to the environment?

It has been observed that many citizens are migrating from small towns to cities. In my opinion, this is a negative trend due to increasing deforestation and air pollution secondary to urbanization. Firstly, movement from people from villages to bigger towns graphs up the population rate leading to more traffic on roads whereas automobiles emit carbon dioxide which has detrimental effects on the environment. For instance, a report published in ‘ The News’ stated that Lahore is one the worst city in the subcontinent in terms of the air-quality index. Moreover, harmful and carcinogenic gases released from vehicles lead to serious ailments like asthma and bronchitis, heightening the risk of life-threatening conditions like lung cancer, and causing a burden on our healthcare system. Secondly, one more disadvantage of migration to urban areas is the cutting down trees for building commercial and residential areas. Due to the removal of greens, wildlife gets disrupted therefore encouraging global warming, which is the biggest reason for rising rates of drought. Additionally, deforestation causes a loss of eco-balance system, resulting in more floods and fires. For example, a study published in a magazine states that due to the influx of people greenery has significantly reduced, disrupting the general outlook of the whole state of London. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize the cons of moving towards the metropolitan cities as stated above leading to adverse effects in our surroundings like population crises and global change in the climate. Collectively, we should make efforts to address these issues so that we can minimize the disadvantages and make our earth a happy, healthy and safe place to reside.