There has been an increase in the number of children and youngsters committing crime. What are the reasons for this? What punishments should they receive?

According to the recent reports, the level of crime is rising in many cities across the world, particularly there is a growning number of under-age offenders. This essay will explore the reasons for this development and will suggest possible ways forward. Let us first look how we, as a society, ended up in such situation. There are mulptiple factors that have contributed to it. The most important of them is the growning income inequality. As more families are struggling to meet their ends, they naturally have less and less time to take a good care of their children and prevent them from joining various crime gangs. This is clearly demonstrated by the situation my home country experienced in the 90s. The economic crises has placed many families below poverty level, and, consequently, the crime activity has increased in all age groups, especially, children. Now, we have dealt with the causes that lead a growing number of childen to commit crime. Let us look how we could change their behaviour. While many people agrue agree for stricter laws, a more efficient strategy is to increase social support. If children have enough resources and if they see opportunites for future career they would be less likely to follow a 'wrong' path. To conclude, this essay has demonstrated that the rising economic inequality is the major cause, that leads a growning number of childen to commit crime. As a way to combat this problem, it has been suggested to increase investments in the various social support programs.