Some people believe that giving aid to poorer countries has more negative effects than positive effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The argument over whether giving aids to less developed countries has positive or negative impacts has not been settled yet. It seems to me that this really depends on different kinds of aids given by developed countries. To begin with, some aids like offering monetary assistance have harmful effects on poorer countries. It is true that this kind of aid can increase a country’s income directly in a rather short period of time, but it does not last long because once the financial aid is run out of, the country will become poor again. In the long run, some poorer countries tend to rely on such aid and take it for granted instead of working hard to improve their living conditions. Once they don’t receive financial help for rich countries, they would be faced with even worse situations due to laziness and even corruption among authorities. One the other hand, there are other forms of aids which can make a great difference to poor countries ’ development. Compared with giving money directly, aids including providing medical assistance, educational help as well as assisting poorer countries to build roads and railways aim to improve local people’s living conditions in a long run. In other words, these types of aids contribute to long-term well-being of poorer countries. Furthermore, many developed countries invest factories in those poorer ones and introduce advanced technology in local communities, which helps to improve locals’ lives on their own. Only in this way can poorer countries get rid of poverty fundamentally. In conclusion, when rich countries offer aids to poorer nations, they should consider what kinds of assistance benefit the latter to the largest extent and thus to help them out of poverty.