Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

How to choose a job has always been the primary concern of many people. Nowadays, many graduates have decided to work independently instead of going to a company or an organisation. In this essay, I will examine the reasons behind the phenomenon and its disadvantages. There are several factors why job applicants are reluctant to work for others but themselves. Firstly, inspired by many self-made billionaires who are becoming household names thanks to the media and the internet, young people are eager to accumulate a fortune. In addition Unlike a regular 9-to-5 job, being self-employed enables you to explore uncharted territory, hence making your life more challenging and meaningful. For instance, my friend gave up his teaching position to become a boss because he hated living a mediocre life. On the other hand, the demerits of being self-employed can not be ignored. It is common for some fresh graduates to start their businesses only to avoid the fierce competition at the workplace. Consequently, without sufficient experience in a large company and strong expertise in a particular field, their business usually fails. The cost could be too much to bear. For example If a young adult is not financially ready for a venture and takes risks to invest, he might resort to high-interest loans, which may lead to excessive pressure and stress. To conclude, many individuals prefer self-sufficient jobs mainly because they pursue a career and the excitement and the challenging experience. However, the drawbacks are obvious, as being your boss can be risky and financially burdensome. Let us choose a career path based on our personality and capability.