Some people argue that thanks to the widespread accessibility of the internet, libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

With an increase in the usage of the internet worldwide, mankind has moved towards a digital approach for most of their daily chores like banking, education, shopping, and many more. Tasks like reading and writing have been drastically changed since the onset of technology. Some people believe that the online educational platforms can replace the traditional libraries as there are various options and they are easily accessible. I, too, agree with the above-mentioned statement and this essay will discuss the same. Firstly, the database available on the cyberspace is extensive. There is a plethora of options to choose from, based on the levels and requirements. For instance, an online information centre might have more collection of books than a hundred of physical libraries combined. Secondly, virtual libraries help save time and efforts. Not only the books can be accessed in just few clicks but they can also be downloaded and read on any device, anywhere in the world. For this reason, more and more humans prefer cloud services rather than going to a building and getting a book. In addition, these also provide flexibility to the readers in terms of comfort. To conclude, it is true that the benefits of digital educational hubs outweigh their physical (offline) counterparts. However, there are rural areas where the connectivity is poor and the citizens don't have proper technologies. Therefore, the government should gradually transition to the web systems wherever needed and keep up with the incoming trends as the virtual realm is the future of the humankind.